WWE Women's Champion

Ranking every WWE Women’s Champion from worst to best

Today is International Women’s Day and there is plenty for women’s wrestling fans to celebrate these days. Throughout the industry, female competitors are pushing the envelope and creating new lanes.

WWE’s “Women’s Revolution” has positioned superstars like Becky Lynch and Charlotte Flair at the forefront of professional wrestling. In particular, Lynch’s meteoric rise in popularity has proven that a woman can be the face of the company.

At the moment, there are five major WWE women’s titles, which is the most in the company’s history. That includes a championship that represents each respective brand (Raw, SmackDown, NXT, and NXT UK), as well as the Women’s Tag Team titles.

WWE Women's Champion
Photo credit: WWE.com

All of the titles are still relatively new. The oldest, the NXT Women’s Championship, was established in April of 2013. The current champion, Rhea Ripley, will mark its seven-year anniversary in a few weeks when she becomes the first woman to defend the title on a WrestleMania card.

All of the other belts are less than four years old but the two main women’s titles harken back to the original WWE Women’s Championship.

The introduction of the Raw Women’s Championship at WrestleMania 32 was such a welcomed change. It marked the return of the women’s world title and drew on the illustrious list of competitors who paved the way for it.

As a celebration of its storied history, here’s a ranking of every WWE Women’s Champion from 1956 to 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s