Participants revealed for AEW Women’s Title Eliminator Tournament

On tonight’s edition of Dynamite, AEW revealed all 16 participants for the AEW Women’s World Championship Eliminator Tournament.

After heavily implying it over the past few weeks, AEW confirmed that one of the two brackets of the 16-woman tournament will be held on American soil, while the other bracket will take place in Japan.

Bell To Belles was able to first confirm that report earlier this week, after several sources mentioned one half of the tournament would be taken place on Japanese soil. At the time, Bell To Belles was told freelance joshi wrestlers would be included in the tournament.

On the Japanese side, the bracket is composed of Aja Kong, Yuka Sakazaki, Veny, Emi Sakura, Ryo Mizunami, Mei Suruga, Rin Kadokura and Maki Itoh.

On the American side, Britt Baker, Tay Conti, Thunder Rosa, Nyla Rose, Anna Jay and Leyla Hirsch join Riho and current NWA Women’s World Champion Serena Deeb, who were announced in the tournament, last week.

The winner of the AEW Women’s World Championship Eliminator Tournament will earn the #1 contender spot for the AEW Women’s World Championship, currently held by Hikaru Shida.

As of the time of writing, there has been no confirmed tournament start date.

Return to Bell To Belles for more women’s wrestling advocacy in the form of news, opinion, and interviews on your favorite women in wrestling!

Leave a Reply